Creed : Royal Oud

Created by : Olivier Creed

Date : 2011

Genre : Wood (oud)

Concentration : eau de parfum

When I first put on Royal Oud, I thought it was one of the most beautiful perfumes I had ever tried.  I still think that way… for the opening.  The combination of citrus and wood notes (oud, cedar and sandalwood) is so very beautiful, I figured it was worth the expensive price tag (over $300 Canadian).  And, it impressed me greatly for the first 30 minutes… but then it all but disappeared and I wondered where it had gone.  I started to wonder if I had not put enough on.  But every once in awhile, it would come back and I’d be reminded of what it had been although the citrus-woody accord had disintegrated to a simple but elegant wood scent.

I’m not going to go on about this one… suffice it to say that Creed’s oud offering, Royal Oud, is beautiful, expensive, slightly boring but smart and elegant.  You couldn’t go wrong with it for any occasion and I could see Prince Charles wearing it with great style.  It’s not for me because I prefer more complex fragrances but if you are looking for a gift for a man who likes to be very well dressed… and discreet… this would be an excellent choice.

Have a nice week everyone!

Image : Official portrait of Prince Charles released November 2008 to mark his 60th birthday.

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Mario

     /  August 20, 2013

    When the Creed salesman introduced me to royal oud, he stated that this was a unisex fragrance created for the wedding of Kate and William. He also stated that Kate wore that at the wedding. I have strong doubts about it. I feel that it is a very masculine, powerful fragrance. I cannot imagine a woman wearing this. If Kate wore this at the wedding, it was to tell:”he might be the prince, but I am the boss!” haha

    The first time that I have tried it, it was like a beautiful fireworks exploding to my nose, going in every direction. It has a grandiose opening like some other Creed creations. I agree with you Normand that it settles down for after 30 minutes and takes a more linear direction. I wished the fireworks last longer, as it is absolutely gorgeous…

    As for the oud, it is not that present as other oud scents that I know of (by killian, acqua di parma, le labo), so the name of this fragrance has been flagged as misleading on several posts. If you are looking for an oud fragrance, this one might not be for you.

    It comes in only one size (75ml) for an outreageous 345$ (more than you would pay for 120 ml of Aventus… go figure!).

    It smells expensive, mature. It smells power and exotism. A perfume for a persian prince! It smells everything I am not.

    Reply
  1. Will anyone ever replace the great Perry Como? | The Perfume Chronicles
  2. Oud is the new black | The Perfume Chronicles
  3. Mugler : Les Exceptions – Chyprissime | The Perfume Chronicles

Leave a comment