Jeroboam : Hauto

cancan

Poster (1896) by Henri de Toulouse-Lautrec

Created by : Vanina Muracciole

Date : 2015

Genre : Fruity tuberose

Concentration : extrait de parfum

From the Jeroboam website :

During the Roaring Twenties, French Cancan dancers in the celebrated cabarets of Paris had their own very specific perfume rituals. It is said that they perfumed “every hill and valley” — wherever they wanted to be kissed. Hauto (“skin”) is an invitation to experience the fragrance of “skin”.

Top notes : Bergamot, pineapple

Middle notes : Tuberose, rose, spices

Base notes : Enigmatic musks

Well… although the marketing hype is a little, shall we say, overreaching, they certainly got the notes right.   When my friend, FiveoaksBouquet, handed me the scent strip with a little smile and said, “tuberose”, she was spot on!   And, WHAT a tuberose it is!  Jeroboam’s perfumer, Vanina Muracciole, infused a juicy, mouth-watering pineapple note into the fragrance giving tuberose a whole new dimension.  In fact, if the lovely, white tuberose flower was a fruit, it would smell like this!

Now, many tuberoses are as dry as the Sinai!  To my nose, Fracas is dry.  So is Madonna’s Truth or Dare.  So if you’ve tried these tuberoses and you don’t think that tuberose is for you, then try Hauto.  It’s a gamechanger, as they say.

As for throw and longevity, I would say it is timid on throw… it doesn’t seem to radiate very far making it perfect for the office.  Longevity?  As the day is long!  It lasted all day on me and into the next morning.  As for sillage, excellent.

tuberose

Tuberose flower

My only criticism is the spray bottle.  Hauto is sold as an “extrait” and for that matter, it should be sold in a perfume bottle with a stopper so you can control where and how much you want on.  Hauto is very concentrated and powerful… I would think a drop on each wrist, behind the ears and for women, in the cleavage, would be just ideal.  But, if you go easy on the atomizer, it should be OK.   In fact, it’s a great value.  A 30 ml. bottle should last many, many months if not years.  A woman at the office sprays Givenchy’s Amarige, another big tuberose, on her wonderful, multi-coloured scarves.  Following her into an elevator or down the hall, is like a walk through a flower garden!

So… although I said I would never buy another tuberose again, well… this one was too juicy to pass up.  In Montréal, you can pick up Hauto and other Jeroboam perfumes at Henriette L.

Enjoy!

 

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Andrea

     /  March 12, 2018

    If it’s anywhere near how you describe it; it must be glorious!

    Reply
  2. Nathalie Boivin

     /  March 12, 2018

    Bonjour Normand,
    C’est toujours un plaisir de te lire. Effectivement c’est une belle tubéreuse. Je n’avais jamais aimé les parfums autour de la tubéreuse jusqu’à ce que je découvre Tubéreuse animale de Histoires de parfums (avec une note tabac) et A travers le miroir de Mugler (avec une note absinthe). Ces deux derniers plus secs correspondent plus à la tubéreuse que j’aime et que j’ai envie de porter. Cependant la lecture de ton commentaire me donne envie d’aller re sentir Hauto…

    Reply
  3. FiveoaksBouquet

     /  March 12, 2018

    Nice review! I’ve been wearing Hauto for a week and a half and enjoying it very much. I love tuberose perfume and tend to prefer it leaning more toward the natural flower—which I feel Hauto does—rather than being too “perfumey.” Hauto does indeed have the characteristic of being very long-lasting and potent without projecting very far. I wonder how they manage to get that combination of effects. It’s great for being able to enjoy one’s perfume without much risk of inconviencing others.

    It did make me smile when reading “A 30 ml bottle should last many, many months if not years,” as in the past ten days or so I have used up a quarter of the bottle! 😀

    Reply
    • Actually I thought of you when I write that sentence. But you know me, I’ll still have my bottle in 10 years… although I look forward to wearing in the summer heat to see if it radiates a little more.

      Thanks for writing !

      Reply

Leave a comment