What perfume might Dame Edith Sitwell have worn in her later years?

Dame Edith Sitwell 1916 by Alvaro Guevara 1894-1951

Dame Edith Sitwell by Alvaro Guevara (1916)

Do you know who Dame Edith Sitwell is?  You don’t?  Are you sure?  Well then, I don’t feel so ignorant because before watching this video, I didn’t know her either.   Of course, my next stop is to find some of her poetry but for now I thought I’d write about the kind of perfume that this grand lady might have worn.

Because of her royal British background, I’m going with a rose perfume but not one of those pink, powdery rose scents, like Paris by Yves Saint-Laurent.  I’m thinking of a deep, boozy red rose note.  And oud!  Yes, oud would be perfect because she has such an earthiness to her.  From my collection, I would have her wear Jo Malone’s Velvet Rose and Oud or Ex Idolo’s Thirty Three, although neither are really oud or dark enough.  If anyone has any suggestions, I would love to hear about them… I’ve always been a bit of a rose-whore myself so it might give me ideas for a fall perfume.

This next interview was on the BBC.  Imagine!  This was tv!  And today, they say we are in the golden age.  I’m not so sure.

Enjoy!

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. claude corbeil

     /  July 2, 2019

    A rose’s whore? As a mâle fan of rose scent myself I would be very curious to read about what you might want to write about it. May be next fall?

    Reply

Leave a comment