Will anyone ever replace the great Perry Como?

A couple of years ago I asked the timeless question, “Will anyone ever replace the great Clara Rockmore?”  The answer still eludes me.  And so this week, I’m asking a similar question about Perry Como.  Was anyone better?  And since, has anyone replaced him?  Of all the great crooners, Frank Sinatra, Bing Crosby, Dean Martin and some of the more modern ones, Engelbert Humperdinck and Tom Jones, NO ONE  has replaced Perry Como.  (Rightfully, I’ll put Elvis in a class of his own.)

On the perfume front, I have been wearing Chanel No. 5 eau de toilette almost exclusively for the past 2 weeks.  Earlier in the month, I wore Madonna’s tuberose offering, Truth or Dare, but recently I guess I wanted to go for simple.  And so I flirted with Eau Sauvage and Par Amour Toujours for a couple of days but really only No. 5 edt calmed me down.  Maybe it’s because I didn’t want to make a statement… or maybe it’s because I wanted to make a different statement.  And when throughout the week, I found myself seeking out Perry Como tunes on my iPod and watching Perry Como clips on youtube… well… it all made sense.  I was looking for simplicity, beauty and serenity.

Look at this live performance of Mr. C. later in his life.. voice, phrasing and smile… it’s all still there.  No Streisand flourishes, no Dion acrobatics, this simple Don McLean song becomes an anthem to peace… life… and love.

A reader once suggested I update my references.  My answer to that person… I will when my references have been surpassed and when the stars in the night sky aren’t worth gazing!

Have a great week everyone.  I’ll be back next week with my review of Creed’s Royal Oud.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

