Perfume Shopping in Montréal : Henriette L.

On a grey day in March, FiveoaksBouquet and I went to visit a new address for perfume shopping in Montréal on very fashionable Laurier Street West.  What attracted us to this particular women’s fashion store was that it has recently started selling a collection of curated niche perfumes.  The store is called Henriette L. and its address is 1031 Laurier Street West, Montréal.

Henriette L1

The owner, Louise Lamarre, had just left Montréal for Paris so we didn’t meet her but she, herself, is a perfume lover and when she goes to Paris to select women’s fashion she also picks out perfume to sell in her boutique.  The houses we saw were:

Frapin

J.F. Schwarzlose

Jeroboam

BDK Parfums

Rania J

Berdoues

Goti

CB I Hate Perfume

Liquides Imaginaires

Parle Moi de Parfum

I don’t know that any of these perfumes were ever available before in Montréal (except for Frapin which used to be carried by Ogilvy’s at one time) so this was a real treat.  Personally, I LOVE the way the perfumes are displayed.  For the perfumista, it’s heaven.  The perfumes can be accessed easily as they are displayed on a custom-made display case.  You don’t have to ask for an SA to get the bottle from behind a counter.  And the scent strips are there so you can try out what you like… no asking the SA for a scent strip.  Ggggrrrrr.

Henriette L2

I’ve said this before and I’ll repeat myself here.  When visiting museums I LOVE to see retrospectives.  The ability to see an artist’s view of beauty throughout their lifetime is a privilege which is why I love curated collections.  This is what you will experience at Henriette L.

For tourists, Laurier Street West can be accessed by subway and bus (or by car, obviously).  If it’s a beautiful day, I say take the subway to either Laurier or Outremont stations and then walk over to the shop which is about 20 minutes away.  On a lovely spring or summer day, it could be just perfect!  There are plenty of tea shops around so spraying scents on your skin, having a cup of tea and then deciding which perfume you would like to buy works out just fine.  It did for us and I’ll tell you next week what I purchased.

P.S.  I have since added Henriette L. to my post on perfume shopping in Montréal.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

21 Comments

  1. Saskia

     /  March 4, 2018

    Ohhh, my favourite street! What a marvellous discovery and what a treat to look forward to in the summer!

    Reply
    • Hi Saskia!

      If you’ve tired of the recent offering by the mainstream, niche might be a good alternative for awhile… or forever!

      Normand

      Reply
  2. FiveoaksBouquet

     /  March 4, 2018

    It was a very enjoyable outing. Good company and lovely store and I was impressed with the selection of niche brands. Definitely intend to go back for further exploration as there were too many scents to explore for one trip.

    For those on or near the 80/435 Park /CDN or 51 Edouard-Montpetit bus lines, those buses go to within a block of the store, which is between Durocher and Hutchison, just west of Av du Parc.

    Reply
  3. Andrea

     /  March 4, 2018

    Great photos…. I love how the perfumes are displayed.

    Reply
  4. Nathalie Boivin

     /  March 6, 2018

    Bonjour Normand,
    J’ai découvert par hasard que Henriette L. vendait des parfums en passant devant sa boutique à la fin de l’été dernier. J’ai été ravi par le choix, la présentation et l’accueil. J’ai bien aimé la maison BDK que je ne connaissait pas. J’ai failli craqué pour Wood Jasmin…

    Reply
    • Bonjour Nathalie,

      Une amie m’a envoyé l’article qui a apparue dans La Presse Plus et je suis allé aussitôt que j’ai pu. Le choix est magnifique. Moi aussi, j’ai essayé le Wood Jasmin sur ma peau. Mais, je cherchais une alternative à Fracas. J’en parlerai dans mon prochain billet.

      Merci pour le commentaire.

      Normand

      Reply
  5. chez Marzipan

     /  April 7, 2018

    I am a big fan of the Berdoues line and was thrilled to see them so beautifully displayed.

    Reply
    • I’m going to have to go back and focus just on Berdoues. There is a lot to discover!

      Reply
      • FiveoaksBouquet

         /  April 7, 2018

        Years ago I used to wear Violettes de Toulouse by Berdoues. It came in a small rounded purple bottle. They didn’t have so many fragrances then. I find the bottles they have today stunning.

      • Yes. The bottles are gorgeous. We’ll have to go back soon!

      • chez Marzipan

         /  April 8, 2018

        I have four bottles of the Berdoues Grand Cru in my house and they really are lovely….my desire to purchase them were as much for the bottles as for the perfume they contained…even the boxes that house the bottles are lovely.

      • Yes, they are absolutely beautiful. Which Grand Cru do you have?

  6. chez Marzipan

     /  April 11, 2018

    I have Assam of India (which I bought blind because of the elephants on the bottle…my childhood friend of 50 years gave me a gift certificate for my birthday for perfume and since her animal is the elephant I bought Assam…I loved it so much I wore it for seven weeks straight two summers ago), Arz el Rab, Oud al Sahraa and Vanira Morrea.

    Reply
  7. Tara C

     /  April 20, 2018

    I visited the shop yesterday and spent two hours chatting with the owner, who is a real perfumista. Lovely selection. My favourites were Jereboam Vespero and Schwartzlose Leder.

    Reply
  1. Perfume Shopping in Montréal | The Perfume Chronicles
  2. Jeroboam : Hauto | The Perfume Chronicles
  3. Exhibition : Balenciaga – Master of Couture (June 15th – October 14, 2018) | The Perfume Chronicles

Leave a comment