Constance, Countess of Trentham : Difficult colour, green… very tricky.

Maggie Smith in Gosford Park

Maggie Smith as the Countess in Gosford Park

One of the funniest lines in Gosford Park (2001) was unscripted.  And who else but Maggie Smith could come up with such a line and deliver it in such a way that would leave the wearer wondering if she had just been given a compliment or the rudest of insults!  So when Claudie Blakley as Mabel Nesbitt arrived on set in a green dress, Maggie instinctively said, “Difficult colour, green… very tricky” and the associate producer, Julian Fellowes, burst out laughing.  They decided to keep the line.

I would say that green perfumes are also difficult, if not tricky.  On my skin they come off very chemical.  And, even a hint of green is sometimes rough as in Chanel No. 19 with that poisonous galbanum opening.  Judging by Michael Edwards’ green family of his Fragrances of the World 2012, it certainly is one of the smallest families… so I assume that they are not that popular either.

Of those that I have tried, I think Sisley’s Eau de Campagne is wonderful, but expensive. Chanel’s Bel Respiro is also lovely, also expensive. I’ve tried Devin by Aramis a couple of times.  Not expensive, but not great either and almost no lasting power.  On me, it smells too soapy.

It seems that to enjoy a really good green scent, you have to break the bank.  And then again, maybe not entirely.

I recently tried Eau de Céleri by Montreal-based Monsillage and I was delighted.  It recently won the Artisan Category of the 2015 Art and Olfaction Awards.  I’ll get back with a full review shortly.  In the meantime, if you know of any green scents that work for you, I’d love to hear about them.

Enjoy!

Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. Mario

     /  July 14, 2015

    I just love green perfumes! On me, numero 19 and 19 poudre are my favorites. I also tried O de Lancome lately and fell in love with it. I also love Cristalle edt, it is just lovely. It is the petfect time for greens now!

    Reply
    • Yes, yes.. absolutely! Summertime is a great time for green scents. You see, Cristalle eau de parfum seems to smell harsh on me. Maybe it’s just me.

      Thanks for the comment!

      Normand

      Reply
  2. FiveoaksBouquet

     /  July 14, 2015

    Agreed green notes can come across as harsh if not well blended or not suited to some skin chemistries and also agreed the good ones run high in cost.

    When it comes to galbanum, one person’s poisonous is another person’s sublime–one of my favourite notes in perfumery. I love that note in No.19 and in general. Grassy green notes are very evident in Guerlain’s Cologne du Parfumeur by Thierry Wasser. Notes: bergamot, lemon, lavender, mint, orange blossom, cut grass, galbanum, cedarwood, white musk. It evokes a rather amusing image where I feel like I’m rolling around in newly mowed grass. Another vibrant green perfume is Atelier Cologne Pur Trèfle. I’ve tested it although not worn it completely, but I have had the candle and find the green notes refreshing and energizing.

    Reply
    • Thanks FiveoaksBouquet! I’ve got to try that Cologne du Parfumeur by Thierry Wasser. I know it’s one of your faves.

      Normand

      Reply
  3. FiveoaksBouquet

     /  July 14, 2015

    Normand, when you do try it, it would be very interesting to hear how you find it compares to Chanel’s EDC, which you love so much.

    Reply
  4. Princess Tonk

     /  July 24, 2015

    Green was always CLEARLY not loved by me – sometimes it’s not so clear! Try Jacomo Silences, gorgeous. inexpensive and emerald.

    Reply
    • Thanks for writing! You know, I’ve never tried it. I can’t seem to get my hands on a tester and I don’t want to buy a full bottle until I know that I love it. But I know that many people seem to love it and it is considered a green classic.

      Normand

      Reply
  5. Princess Tonk

     /  July 26, 2015

    If you were in the States, I’d send it to you. As it is, I barely know my way around a pipette. But considering that on eBay it sells here for $25… if you love green, you must try it! After all, they are nearly paying YOU to buy it!

    Reply
    • I’ve seen it in Montreal. And, I might have perfumista friends who would be willing to give me a sample. No… I know. It’s dirt cheap.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

