Histoires de Parfums : Tubéreuse 2 Virginale

Photo by Peter Lindbergh

Photo by Peter Lindbergh

Created by : Gérald Ghislain

Date : 2009

Genre : Effortless tuberose

Concentration : eau de parfum

Do you know who styled the above American Vogue photo?  The great Carlyne Cerf de Dudzeele.  Of this photo, she said :

So, we shot this in L.A. The girls looked, I mean, divine… divine! EASINESS! RRRREAL! Real. This can be today.  Is no season. STYLE DON’T HAVE SEASON! Nothing is démodé when it is great pieces. NOTHING,  NOTHING,  NOTHING IS DÉMODÉ!

The same applies for perfume.  Great perfume never goes out of style and “easiness” is important.  I mean why wear a perfume over and over again trying to get used to it.  If it isn’t easy and you don’t love it after a few tries, give it to a friend… or an enemy that you see only rarely!

Of all the tuberoses I have tried or smelled, I would say this is one of the easier ones.  It is very well balanced with jasmine and vanilla giving it an almost “bouquet” feel.  There are other notes listed on the packaging, such as frangipane, but I wasn’t able to distinguish the famous almond paste, nor was I able to distinguish the patchouli in the bottom notes.

Tuberose is almost always paired with some fresh topnote like the menthol in Serge Lutens’ Tubéreuse Criminelle.  In this case, Gérald Ghislain has paired the tuberose with an ultra-fresh cherry note with a camphorous facet.  It reminds me of those cherry-flavoured cough drops that my mother gave me as a youngster when I had a sore throat. Personally I love what the cherry does to Tubéreuse 2 Virginale but if you don’t like that note, it doesn’t last very long, maybe 20 minutes, unless you spray it one fabric in which case it will hang around a bit longer.

If you are familiar with Germaine Cellier’s Fracas, I find this tuberose fragrance easier to wear… it certainly is fresher and it doesn’t have that butter note.  As I’ve never tested Dominique Ropion’s Carnal Flower on skin, I’m not sure how it would stack up but the odd time I sprayed it on a scent strip, it seemed to me quite a bit heavier than this one. Same goes for Dior’s Poison.

Both men and women can wear it… but go easy on the atomizer.  My concentration is the eau de parfum and it is tuberose afterall.  One spray too many and you might regret it.

Here is a photo of the “easiness” girl herself.

Carlyne Cerf de Dudzeele

Carlyne Cerf de Dudzeele

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. FiveoaksBouquet

     /  April 20, 2015

    Normand, it’s great so see a guy going for an outright floral perfume. I’ll bet it smells terrific on you. I say give yourself time to discover the other notes like frangipani and patchouli. The Histoires des Parfums site doesn’t list any almond paste so if you don’t smell it, not to worry. I find it usually takes a while of wearing a new perfume to discover all its facets. Enjoy!

    Reply
    • I always felt left out of the tuberose party but I wanted to participate anyway because it’s such a staple of French perfumery. As for Fracas, I have tried it many, many times and it is definitely a perfume I wanted to love… but didn’t. You know, I haven’t forgotten Modern Muse Chic… it was great on you. I’m definitely into white floral bouquets these days.

      For tomorrow I’ve taken out my bottle of Shalimar…😉

      Reply

Leave a Reply

