John Fairchild : Fashion is a very boring subject

Lucien Lelong

In the documentary “Diana Vreeland : The Eye Has to Travel”, the former publisher of Women’s Wear Daily, John Fairchild, weighs in on Diana’s contribution to fashion and what he says is true and disturbing… and certainly applies to perfume.

She gave fantasy to fashion and romanticized it… because basically, deep down, it’s not romantic.  Fashion is a very boring subject.  She gave the energy and the pep to anything she touched.  That’s important!  Even when you talked to her, she gave you… pep!

I think perfume is like this.  In and of itself, it’s a very boring subject… let’s face it. But when friends like FiveoaksBouquet and Tara talk to me about perfume, it’s anything BUT boring. In fact, I was telling FiveoaksBouquet about an incident where two shoppers became violent in a department store and she was horrified, as was I! It seemed so crazy. But when I mentioned that they were arguing about perfume, she said, “Oh…. well… that’s different.  I could see how someone could get violent about perfume!”  We both laughed.

Certain bloggers seem to be able to write about perfume and also give it that edge.  For fear of forgetting someone, I won’t mention them by name but you know who they are. They take basically useless liquid and turn it into an art form, or almost. Or they at least make it intriguing and make us want to go out and try it!

And what Diana says about fashion also applies to perfume…

Vogue always did stand for people’s lives.  I mean, a new dress doesn’t get you anywhere!  It’s the life you’re living IN the dress.

Same goes for perfume.  A new perfume won’t get you anywhere…  it just won’t!  It’s the life you’re living while wearing the perfume… your interest in all that life has to offer… the visual and musical arts, science and technology, politics, people and relationships, love and sex.  It’s all about the trips one takes… the dinners with friends… and the smile you get from the man or woman sitting opposite you in the subway.

That’s what perfume does to me.  It reminds me of all the possibilities of life… of meeting wonderful and crazy people and maybe someone to spend an evening with… or a lifetime.

I ordered Cuir de Lancôme recently.  I’ll be back with a review shortly.

Lasso

 

 

Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. “I could see how someone could get violent about perfume!”🙂 Exactly.

    Reply
    • A guy got in the elevator recently wearing one of those big, chemical fougère-type stinkbombs… and I just wanted to punch him in the nose!

      Thanks for the comment.

      Normand

      Reply
  2. Ce billet me fait réfléchir au fait qu’inconsciemment quand je me parfume c’est comme si je pensais que quelque chose de spécial allait se passer.

    Reply
  3. Tara C

     /  September 25, 2014

    Okay, now I want to know what scent could bring people to blows in a department store in mild-mannered Canada?😉 If someone sprayed me with one of those big spiky wood stinkbombs, that would do it for me. But you are right, perfume and clothes are basically boring without the life that you live in them – where ya going in that?

    Reply
    • I’m not even sure it was in Canada. It was anecdote I read many years ago on a blog.

      Oh that’s funny! “Where ya going in that?” Got to remember that!

      Reply
  4. FiveoaksBouquet

     /  September 25, 2014

    LOL! There was a perfume that made me feel violent one time; it hit me like a blast of diesel fuel in the face. But I controlled myself–with difficulty.😀 A lot of people might disagree with Mr. Fairchild and I might be one of them. To me design in all its forms is endlessly fascinating and I have been mesmerized by anything and everything I could “soak up” about perfume all my life. Sometimes you can learn more about a person by the way they dress and their relationship to perfume than you can by how they act in social situations.

    Reply
    • Thanks for the comment. But I can see how fashion could be boring. I can’t imagine getting very excited about it… but maybe perfume IS different.

      Normand

      Reply

Leave a Reply

