Thierry Mugler : A*Men Le Goût du Parfum / The Taste of Fragrance / Pure Chili (limited edition)

Great bottle!

Great bottle!

Created by : Unknown perfumer

Date : 2011

Genre : Spicy wood

Concentration : eau de toilette

This flanker is part of an A*Men series following Pure Malt and Pure Havane.  Actually, I know very little about the whole line (except for Angel and Angel edt, which I love) let alone two flankers, but a friend, Mario, brought me a sample of The Taste of Fragrance and insisted that I write a review.  When I asked him why he wouldn’t write the review himself, he wanted to know what a person not familiar with the A*Men line thought.  So… here I go… with my blank, uneducated mind.

This is not the kind of perfume I would wear but it is the kind that I WILL wear.  I was totally blown away.  A*Men The Taste of Fragrance is a warm, ambery woody scent laced with ginger and candied anise.  It’s an incredible combination.  The hot ginger and cool anise work together perfectly.  Other reviewers speak non-stop about the chili paste but I didn’t smell the chili at all, although I sure could feel it.  There is a “hotness” note in there which bumps up the “wow” factor.  I found this fragrance to be long-lasting and very sexy!

So… when I decided to wear it to this year’s Art Tattoo Montreal 2013 show, it made me feel confident AND totally rebellious, even though I don’t have any tattoos and after visiting the show for the past 10 years, it’s unlikely that I will… well, maybe just a little butterfly or a religious theme or marine or Old School or… wait for it… the SHALIMAR bottle!!!  Yesss!  What a great idea.  And then again, maybe not.

Enjoy the week!

Art Tattoo Montréal 2013 (click to enlarge)

Art Tattoo Montréal 2013 (click to enlarge)

Leave a comment

12 Comments

  1. Tara

     /  September 9, 2013

    I sniffed this when it was launched at Nordstrom’s… I couldn’t really smell the chili either. Fred wears one of these flankers but I can’t recall if it is the Pure Havane or Pure Malt… I am thinking it is Pure Malt. I like to wear the original A*Men myself during the cooler months… which would be very soon here in Montreal.

    Reply
    • You know… I think a lot of reviewers depend too heavily on the ingredients list instead of their own noses. I haven’t tried A*Men and this The Taste of Fragrance will certainly have me stopping by the Thierry Mugler counter more often!

      Thanks for the comment!

      Reply
  2. Mario

     /  September 12, 2013

    Dear Normand, I am glad that you share my enthusiasm about this wonderful fragrance. I now have the complete line of A*Men, including the impossible to find Pure Coffee!

    ATOF is the most sensual fragrance that they have created. The first time that I have smelled it, I was immediately addicted! I do get a lot of the chili paste though, maybe the reaction varies from one person to another.

    Reply
  3. The SHALIMAR bottle if you had to. Lol. These days you can have tattoos removed if you tire of them. A*Men Pure Chili – Is that one of the rubberized bottles or matte black? I have the original A*Men in a steel bottle which needs polishing to make it gleam. A very demanding bottle including the juice.

    Reply
    • Hi Jordan!

      I was given a small sample so I’m not sure about the bottle. Yes… if I had to choose a perfume-themed tattoo, definitely the Shalimar bottle!

      Normand

      Reply
  4. Natalie

     /  September 13, 2013

    I actually can smell the chili in this, and I like it! I wouldn’t wear it, but I do really enjoy smelling it.

    Reply
  5. Sarah

     /  May 1, 2014

    Funny you should mention the Shalimar bottle tattoo. I’m actually getting exactly that on the 24th of this month!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

