Grace Kelly, Diana Vreeland and Maggie Smith

The wedding dress is not in the exhibit because it is now too fragile.

This wedding dress is not in the exhibit because it is now too fragile to be moved.

When Diana Vreeland announced that she was going to do a show of Hollywood costumes at the Costume Institute of the Metropolitan Museum of Art, the Director, Tom Hoving, was furious! “In the name of God, Diana, why are we dragging Hollywood into the Metropolitan?” Diana replied, “Tom, I’ve been looking at French couture for the last forty years, and I can tell you that I have NEVER seen clothes made like these.” Well… knowing that Diana was prone to hyperbole, if not outright lying, that was probably an exaggeration but she made her point and the show was a huge success.

Ms. Vreeland could envision what FiveoaksBouquet, Tara and I saw last Monday at the Grace Kelly show in Montreal… Edith Head and Helen Rose costumes DISPLAYED WITH couture from Chanel, Dior, Balenciaga, Saint-Laurent, Givenchy and Madame Grès!!! And you know… if I hadn’t seen the labels, I might not have been able to tell the difference between the Hollywood gowns and those from Paris. It’s the kind of show that Diana would have loved to put on… and it was great!

If anyone out there is coming to Montreal this summer, DO NOT MISS THIS EXHIBIT! It is on until October 6th, 2013 and if you come before August 18th, you get the added bonus of a hat show, Hats Off!

There hasn’t been much to write about lately. No new perfume out there has caught my attention. I’m still addicted to Olivier Polge’s Dior Homme. That’s what iris does to me. I did, however, pick up a bottle of Jean Patou’s Joy edt which is so hard to find these days. I’ll come back to it after I’ve worn it a few days… but I doubt that it will live up to its former glory now that jasmine absolut is considered a lethal weapon! Those of you with vintage bottles, hang on to them. Those concentrations of jasmine are a thing of the past!

In closing, so many friends and acquaintances tell me how great Maggie Smith is in Downton Abbey. But my really close friends know that I don’t watch television… only the news. But I do remember Maggie Smith from The Prime of Miss Jean Brodie where she was on-camera during 80% of the movie and she made that film! Opera fans know that there is nothing better than a good letter scene in any opera unless of course, it’s when a really bad soprano dies of consumption or throws herself off a parapet… that gets a standing ovation from me every time! But this letter scene from Jean Brodie beats all! Enjoy this next clip… but try and “remain composed… like the Mona Lisa.”

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Tara

     /  July 22, 2013

    It was a nice exhibit on the Grace Kelly, some great fashion names – a bit sanitized on her personal life, but that was not unexpected.

    Reply
    • “An exhibition produced by the Grimaldi Forum Monaco in collaboration with the McCord Museum, based on an exhibition by the Victoria and Albert Museum, London.”

      I suspect that Monaco had the last word on every little detail.

      Thanks for the comment!

      Normand

      Reply
  2. Natalie

     /  July 28, 2013

    Edith Head was truly a genius, and deserves to take her place amongst the couturiers, in my opinion. Such vision!

    Reply
    • I totally agree. I read her biography… she was an incredibly hard worker and totally devoted to her profession!

      Thanks for the comment.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

