Hermès : Jour d’Hermès

Wheat Field with Reaper (1889) by Vincent Van Gogh

Wheat Field with Reaper (1889) by Vincent Van Gogh

Created by : Jean-Claude Ellena

Date : 2012

Genre : Green floral

Concentration : eau de parfum

Does anyone not absolutely love Jour d’Hermés?  You don’t?  Well then, I don’t believe you!  I’m not a great, big fan of Ellena’s recent, simple works but this one is sublime!

While researching this post, I found two very interesting comments in Ellena’s “Journal d’un parfumeur”…

“Mes parfums sont des parfums achevés mais non finis” and

“Ainsi je laisse volontairement des vides, des «blancs», dans les parfums afin que chacun puisse y ajouter son propre imaginaire ; ce sont des «vides d’appropriation»”.

Loosely translated, his perfumes are completed but unfinished and he likes to leave “holes” or “blank spaces” in his perfumes so that people can fill them in themselves.  Now that certainly rings true for the whole Jardin series and Terre d’Hermès.  But it doesn’t ring true for this beautiful and, dare I say, impressionistic Jour d’Hermès which recalls a field of wild flowers at sunrise.

Contrary to earlier works, Jour d’Hermès is completely polished, rounded and, well, finished. I’ve worn it now for almost two weeks straight and whenever I get a whiff of it, like in the middle of the long workday, it reminds me of field flowers… not hothouse flowers, not roses, not jasmine, not orange blossoms… wild field flowers about to open with the early morning sun coaxing them along.  And green!  Just when you thought green was out of fashion, this one has a green tinge throughout… right to the end of the day so longevity is excellent!

And, am I the only one that thinks that Jour d’Hermès reminds a little of Guerlain’s Chamade?  It’s kind of like a greener, more citrusy but very much lighter Chamade, isn’t it?  It’s like a daytime Chamade… or an eau de toilette to Chamade’s eau de parfum.

I think Jour d’Hermès has the potential to become a classic one day but not so much because of what it is but because of what it isn’t.  Jour d’Hermès is counterpoint to the intense florals of the day.  When tuberose, orange blossom and heady vanilla rule the landscape, in addition to all those fruity concoctions, I think Jour d’Hermès by Jean-Claude Ellena might be remembered as a singular masterpiece that bucked the trend and gave us an alternative… and that shows courage… and vision!

Who can wear Jour d’Hermès?  Everyone… young women, middle-aged and others “of a certain age”.  And men!  Jour d’Hermès would smell great on a man.

If you haven’t tried it, then by all means, go to the store and try it out.  If you have tried it… then you know what I’m talking about.

Enjoy!

Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. J’aime l’idée des vides d’appropriation…

    Reply
    • Alors… t’aimeras Terre d’Hermès. Un parfum “intellectuel” pour les intellos…😉

      Merci pour le commentaire!

      Normand

      Reply
  2. Tara

     /  May 29, 2013

    I didn’t like this one at all… on my skin, it smelled bitter and unpleasant. On the other hand, Chamade is lovely and I have no difficulty wearing that one. In general though green scents are not my favorite thing, I only have a few in my collection and I don’t reach for them often.

    Reply
    • It took me a long time before trying Jour d’Hermès because on a scent strip it smelled EXACTLY as you say… bitter. But on my skin, it seemed to develop into something much more interesting. I think this one has legs but only time will tell.

      Reply
  3. Yes, there are large black spaces in certain gardens. I kept thinking ‘where is perfume’ and ending up leaving the store with Spice Bomb which was the complete opposite of what I had come to explore that day.

    Reply
    • Those Jardin pieces are often referred to as “haikus”. Personally, they are not my style but most people seem to want something very light that they can spray throughout the day. The one I like the most is Un Jardin sur le Nile.

      Reply
  4. Natalie

     /  June 2, 2013

    I know what you’re talking about😉 (reference to your last line).

    Reply
  5. I need to try this scent from Hermès. it sounds intriguing.

    Reply
    • On a good friend’s skin, it went “bitter and unpleasant” so I would DEFINITELY test this one before buying it. Luckily, samples are not difficult to get. Tell me what you think!

      Normand

      Reply

Leave a Reply

