Photos : Denyse Beaulieu comes to Montreal

Denyse Beaulieu (left) being interviewed by Donna Lach

Denyse Beaulieu (left) being interviewed by Donna Lach – click to enlarge

When I heard that Denyse Beaulieu (Grain de musc) had added Montreal to her book tour of The Perfume Lover, I was more than excited.  And when I mentioned it to Clarisse Monereau from L’École en parfumerie Clarisse Monereau, she came with her entire class.  It might have been cold and blustery outside (winter is hanging on), but the evening was magical and hot!  For awhile there, the 40-something crowd was transported to Paris and Cabris… far away from the ice and snow.

The 90-minute event was broken into two sections… a question-and-answer period with Donna Lach of the Westmount Public Library and a privileged sniffing session of the following scents and how they are used in perfume :

1) Orange blossom absolute

2) Incense resinoid

3) Beeswax

4) Duende 3 (first guiding mod)

5) Habanita

6) Tonka bean absolute

7) Duende 63

8) Indolene

9) Luisieri Lavender

10) Séville à l’aube (the finished product)

Here are the photos that I promised in an earlier post.  The top photo I took myself but all the other photos (except the signature) were graciously supplied by FiveoaksBouquet (many of you know her from Perfume of Life).  All photos are copyrighted and cannot be copied without consent.

Denyse Beaulieu on book tour in Montreal

Denyse Beaulieu on book tour in Montreal

Ellen, the Hermès Perfume Consultant from The Bay (downtown branch) - click to enlarge

Ellen, the Hermès Perfume Consultant from The Bay (downtown branch)

From Denyse... (click to enlarge)

From Denyse… (click to enlarge)

Me. What am I smelling?  And more importantly, do I need hair plugs?

Me. What am I smelling? And more importantly, do I need hair plugs?

Leave a comment

19 Comments

  1. Great report. Love a library, add perfume, a grain of musc and you have The Perfume Lover and Lovers. What did the Luisieri smell like?

    Reply
    • Hi!

      It didn’t smell much like lavender, actually… more like something citrus, I think.

      Normand

      Reply
      • Aha! It all changes in the composition.

      • I can’t remember it much but I can see why Denyse initially did not want a lavender in Séville à l’aube but agreed to this one. This one appeared to me much warmer and not medicinal in any way. It really is a great book! I learned a lot.

  2. Reblogged this on The Fragrant Man and commented:
    Normand Cardella chronicles The Perfume Lover and The Perfume Lovers in Montreal.
    Live Reportage.

    Reply
  3. Tara

     /  April 8, 2013

    Thanks for sharing the photos, wish I could have been there! 🙂

    Reply
  4. FiveoaksBouquet

     /  April 11, 2013

    It was a very well received presentation. Denyse spoke very well before the group and interacted with the audience informally throughout, making people feel comfortable to comment or ask questions. I felt the audience really appreciated being brought into the creative process for Séville à l’aube and the Westmount Library can feel proud to now have brought two major perfume events to the public. I believe the library is unique in this within the Montreal area.

    Reply
  5. Natalie

     /  April 17, 2013

    Thank you for sharing the photos! I wish we could smell the scents, too. And no, you do not need hair plugs. No one needs hair plugs.🙂

    Reply
  6. colabama

     /  October 27, 2013

    you are a very handsome man.no hair plugs needed.i am enjoying your blog.thank you.

    Reply
  7. I’ve thoroughly enjoyed your book, The Perfume Lover, but am confused by one thing. You make many references to incense (which I’m in the habit of calling “frankincense”) and from your descriptions, I gather you associate it with the ancient somewhat dissonant smell of the smoke that wafts up in church. The essential oil (although you mentioned the absolute which I don’t have) has a distinct aroma, with a kind of lemony top note, that reminds me of furniture polish. Other than burning the stuff, trying to capture the smoke in fat, and then extract it with alcohol, I can’t think of how to make a smokey incense note. Any thoughts? Or am I missing something?

    Reply
  8. Denyse Beaulieu

     /  March 6, 2014

    James, I’m afraid that not being a perfumer, I couldn’t really give you any hints… Reproducing a church incense effect, for instance in Comme des Garçons Avignon, involves incense extractions, obviously, but also various other materials since as you say, the oil doesn’t quite smell like the stuff once it’s burning (the same goes for oud: bakhour smoke is notable different from oud oil). Sorry I can’t be more helpful!
    Denyse

    Reply
  9. Oh… those are beautiful photos! Thanks.

    Reply
  10. If I taught a perfume course, The Perfume Lover would be required reading.

    Reply
  1. The Perfume Lover in New York – Event – Photo Report | The Fragrant Man
  2. The Perfume Lover – New York and Montreal appearances by Denyse Beaulieu | The Fragrant Man

Leave a Reply

