In 2013… follow every rainbow

Sisyphus - click to enlarge

“Follow every rainbow”… so many of us will remember those magical words from The Sound of Music.  Personally, I don’t know whether it’s a wish or a curse.  Can you imagine following every rainbow?  Not easy.  And let’s not forget that rainbows only appear when there is rain.  No rain… no rainbow!  You’d think that people would wish for a rainbow-free life.

Don’t you think that we’re all just a little neurotic?  I mean… normal people don’t collect perfume.  Normal people don’t write about perfume.  Normal people don’t read about perfume!  Let’s face it!  So what is it about perfume enthusiasts that keep us chasing… trying out different fragrances.  Are we searching for the Holy Grail of perfumes… or is it all about the the thrill of the pursuit?  And, if it IS the pursuit… are we all modern-day versions of Sisyphus… pushing the boulder up the hill only to watch it fall down the hill… so we can start all over again… although looking for the perfect perfume is A LOT more fun than pushing a boulder up a hill, no doubt about it.

Recently in the absence of writing about perfume, I’ve been wearing perfume… a lot of it… Pour Monsieur by Chanel, Estée Lauder’s Azurée, Stetson and Chanel No. 5, of course.  Today I wore Guerlain’s Mitsouko.  Tomorrow I’ll wear Knowing or Shalimar… something big.

Looking back on 2012, I don’t remember any really great perfumes… no new launches that really threw me.  Oh yes… Séville à l’aube by L’Artisan Parfumeur… but I didn’t actually receive it until December 31st (although I had a sample which I refused to wear in case I loved it and couldn’t refill it).  So, I’ll come back to Séville with a proper review in spring when The Perfume Lover book comes out, the book that documents its creation.

As for 2012, it wasn’t very memorable except for that grand, sunny and hot summer!  Oddly enough, no rain.  And no rainbows.

So in 2013… if you see a rainbow… follow it… and send me an email.

Top image : Sisyphus (1549) by Titian

Bottom image : Climb Every Mountain from The Sound of Music

Leave a comment

12 Comments

  1. Lily

     /  January 16, 2013

    Very interesting … I also see perfume like an inspiring uplifting breathtakingly masterful piece of music… and is there one that will come along that will be even better than the most famous classical’s already in existence?

    Reply
  2. Tara C

     /  January 16, 2013

    For me it is an eternal quest for the next fabulous thing that will make my eyes roll back in my head.🙂 I am looking forward to following my rainbow this year!

    Reply
  3. I’m not sure if there is a similar joke in English but loosely translated from Russian: There are no “normal people” – there are only those who haven’t been diagnosed yet. Some people collect perfumes, some – stamps, cards, figurines – you name it. There are many hobbies, not related to collecting anything, that would seem strange to “normal people.” So I think we, perfume lovers, aren’t the strangest bunch.

    My 2012 was better than yours: if you’re curious, take a look at the last section of my stats post where I list those perfumes that I liked last year (I’m not sure what’s your policy on links so delete it if you don’t want it here – I just didn’t want to repeat a long list).

    Reply
    • Hi! What an incredible list… and such wonderful accounting! Thanks for bringing your incredible post to the attention of my readers!

      Normand

      Reply
  4. FiveoaksBouquet

     /  January 16, 2013

    For me there are many new and fabulous perfumes out there, namely all the perfumes carried in the stores for decades, that I have never tried. I’m still catching up on scents I passed over or never took the time to wear. Case in point that blew me away, Chanel Cuir de Russie. It’s been around since 1924. I’ve flirted with it through the years but never took it up until last year and I am wowed! My prospects can go backward, forward or sideways in time. Any perfume is fair game for discovery.

    Reply
    • You know… that’s a great point! “New” is relative. I discovered Azurée (1969) by Estée Lauder in 2012 and now it’s in my top ten. Thanks for the comment.

      Normand

      Reply
  5. FiveoaksBouquet

     /  January 18, 2013

    Uh oh, one just popped up on my radar: Chanel 1932, coming out in Les Exclusifs in February. It is called a powdery floral with main motes of jasmine, iris and vetiver. Something to look forward to smelling!

    Reply
  6. Lisa

     /  January 23, 2013

    Oh my, how succinct!
    I have a personal database with over 2,000 perfumes noted.
    Blu by Bruno Acampora was tested early Jan (cheat, I know) but was noted as a “perfect” in my database and now purchased.
    Mind you, blu also triggered a direct memory moment of falling for perfumes when I was around 7 years old and I am now 42!
    Ahh, the complexity of the rainbow…
    Lisa – Australia

    Reply
    • Hi Lisa!

      Thanks for commenting. Starting a personal database was a great idea! We don’t have access to Bruno Acampora perfumes here in Montreal but thanks very much for that heads up!

      Normand

      Reply

Leave a Reply

