Perfume heaven and hell…

We’ll all seen that text that says that heaven is a place where the police are British, the cooks are French, the mechanics are German, the lovers are Italian, etc.  So I started to wonder… what about perfume heaven and what about perfume hell?  This is what I came up with :

In perfume heaven…

All chypres are French

All florals are British

All citrus scents/eaux de colognes are German

All woods are Italian

All ambers are Middle Eastern/North African

All fougères are American and

All leathers are Russian.

In perfume hell…

All chypres are British

All florals are Middle Eastern/North African

All citrus scents/eaux de colognes are Russian

All woods are American

All ambers are German

All fougères are French and

All leathers are Italian.

Well… as you can see, it doesn’t really work, particularly for perfume hell, because the French pretty well do everything with perfection.  But I thought it was a fun exercise.

Have a nice week everyone!

Image : The Garden of Earthly Delights, central panel – Detail Winged man with fruit flies to heaven by Hieronymus Bosch (1450 – 1516)

Previous Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. FiveoaksBouquet

     /  October 21, 2012

    Fun lists! They certainly set the wheels spinning in the perfume area of my brain! I can see your problem with perfume hell, Jicky, for instance, being a French fougère, not to mention Fougère Royale. Also, didn’t the idea of scent with leather (gloves) get its start in Florence? Looking back over my perfume-buying habits through the years, I would have to say all my heaven perfumes would be French and I’m not going to tell which country would represent all the ones from hell but there is one…🙂

    Reply
    • I know! The French do everything well and perfume heaven could be French perfume only and it would be fine with me.

      As for your country which represents all the ones from hell… DO TELL!

      I laughed out loud when I read your comment!

      Normand

      Reply
  2. Tara C

     /  October 24, 2012

    France is definitely perfume heaven… as for perfume hell, I think it is America! :-0

    Reply

Leave a Reply

