Upcoming exhibition : T-minus 3 days… and counting

Only 3 days before the opening of The Story of Perfume at the Dorval Museum and it’s been quite hectic.  As I look back, there were some really fun moments and some not so fun.  Some of the choices were difficult.  I kept the exhibition small… 5 influential perfumers and 10 “milestone” perfumes but there will also be a display of beautiful bottles and raw materials.  As to my selection of the 10 milestones a friend asked, “How about perfume #11?  No mention?  How can you choose?”  Good questions!

Luckily I have some very smart friends.  FiveoaksBouquet helped me sort out a few of the decisions that kept me awake at night.  For instance, what Germaine Cellier perfume was more influential… Fracas or Vent Vert?  And between Calvin Klein’s Escape and L’Eau d’Issey which one made Calone a staple in modern perfume today.  Of course, sane people probably wouldn’t spend much time thinking about this… but I did.

The most disappointing part of the exercise was getting the stores excited.  I contacted the head offices of two major retail outlets… no one returned emails or phonecalls.  Luckily, the good people at The Bay (Dorval Gardens) did offer help and they have supplied us with more samples that anyone could use in a lifetime.  And I met the person in charge of the fragrance department and it was such a great pleasure to meet her and speak with her… a great resource for the people in the West Island of Montreal looking for perfume advice.

I’ll be posting photos of the exhibit and it would so much fun if we could all be there together.  I’m sorry I’ve been absent recently but this exhibition has kept me quite busy as has other aspects of my life.  I look forward to getting back to reviewing perfumes.  I missed it.

If you’re coming Thursday night (door opens at 7 p.m.), this is not the kind of event to be discreet.  Do you remember that wise advice about removing 1 piece of jewelry before leaving the house?  Well… I’m suggesting that just before you head out to the Museum… go back to your dresser and ADD one more piece of jewelry… spray more perfume and, by all means, come and introduce yourself to me.  I’d love to meet you.

Have a nice week everyone and if I don’t die of a heart attack before next weekend, I’ll be back with photos.

Leave a comment

18 Comments

  1. Congratulations on this wonderful event. I can’t wait to see the pictures. How excited you must be! Wish I could be there, Montreal is so beautiful, but alas I am stuck in foggy old San Francisco.

    Reply
  2. FiveoaksBouquet

     /  September 3, 2012

    Normand, the blasting-off analogy seems so apt because a perfume exhibit in a local museum must surely be a new frontier. Thank you for the kind words. I am so looking forward to the exhibit opening and you can count on me to overload on jewelry and perfume, most likely Chanel Beige… Fifty spritzes–would that be enough?

    Reply
  3. AH!!! Normand, I’m so excited for you, and jealous of anyone who lives within 100 miles of the Museum….. I’m so glad, too, that you’ve found such a valuable partnership w/ The Bay. Community collaboration is vital to the success of the project! (When I held my perfume-centered library event, I approached local Ulta and Sephora stores in the hopes of striking up partnerships– only to meet with resounding silence! I guess it’s their policy…)

    Reply
    • Thanks Meg! Well… now that we’re naming names… Sephora never returned my calls. Perhaps you are right… perhaps it is policy. Certainly doesn’t make me want to shop there anymore. Did you write about that event? How did it go? I’ll look for the post on your website.

      Reply
  4. Good luck with the event! Don’t be modest with pictures – if we can’t be there at least we’ll see it through your camera.

    Reply
  5. Oh, I wish I could be there! This sounds like so much fun.

    Reply
    • Right now, it’s almost 11 p.m. and I’m working on the cards that will go next to the perfumes but in a couple of days… it WILL be a lot of fun! I promise to share photos!

      Thanks for the comment!

      Normand

      Reply
  6. Very excited about this event! I definitely will be attending!

    Reply
    • Great! Please introduce yourself to me… I’ll be wearing a plaid tie, if that helps.

      Reply
      • Well I was not planning on attending the opening, but I will definitely be visiting soon! So excited! I hope the opening went well! Wish I could have been there!

      • Sorry… I misunderstood. I am giving a couple of presentations… September 30th and October 28th at 2 p.m. (in English) and 3 p.m. (in French). I’ll be handing out scent strips and explaining my choices of perfume for the exhibit. If you can make it… great. If not… enjoy the show, it is there for another 2 months.

  7. Guy

     /  September 5, 2012

    Nous y serons. Guy et Guylaine

    Reply

Leave a Reply

