Upcoming exhibition : The Story of Perfume

Hello everyone,

I won’t be publishing much this month as I am the guest curator of an exhibition on perfume at the City of Dorval Museum of Local History and Heritage.  This exhibition has been in the works for awhile but it’s crunch time now.  I’ve got a lot of writing to do over the coming weeks and just choosing which perfumes and which perfumers get highlighted requires much thought.  I hope to get back to this blog occasionally but probably not on a regular basis until my texts have been submitted.

The opening vernissage is Thursday, September 6th (more details to come).

Thanks for all your loyal support over the past year and have a nice perfumed summer everyone!

Top image : Photo of the Dorval Museum

Bottom image : Carolina Sunlight (1915) by Elliott Daingerfield

Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. FiveoaksBouquet

     /  July 9, 2012

    I just know this exhibit is going to be great and I look forward to taking it in!

    Reply
  2. This is terrific news, Normand. I hope you’ll post TONS about it after the installation and opening, for those of us geographically distant from the exhibit. Bravissimo!

    Reply
    • It IS good news! It’s kind of an extension of the lectures… but in a museum we can display bottles and factices and all kinds of artefacts. Luckily, I have two very smart people working with me on this.. so at least 2 out of 3 people know what they are doing…😉 I’ll post photos! Thanks for the comment.

      Reply
  3. Sounds really exciting! Have fun with it.

    Reply
    • So far, it’s been fun… and a little bit of work. I’ll post photos. And, I’ll post my perfume decisions so that if anyone out there wants to feel inspired and do something similar, by all means!

      Normand

      Reply
  4. I can’t wait to hear more about this!

    Reply
  5. Hi Normand! I just discovered your wonderful blog and the world of perfume! I was wondering if anybody can come to the vernissage of your exhibition? My partner and I are in Montreal and we would be very interested in seeing the exhibition! Thank you!

    Reply
    • Absolutely! It’s totally open to anyone who wants to come. It’s on Thursday, September 6th at 7 p.m. at the Dorval Museum, 1850 Lakeshore Drive. Please introduce yourself! I guess you can just ask for me by name and someone at the museum will be able to single me out. See you there!

      Normand

      Reply

Leave a Reply

