FiveoaksBouquet : We certainly accomplished a lot today!

Anyone walking past FiveoaksBouquet and me on Friday afternoon might have wondered what she meant when she said, “We certainly accomplished a lot today!”  Particularly that we both burst out laughing right after she said it!  I mean, we certainly didn’t look like we had been packing boxes.  In fact, I wouldn’t say we looked like we had been working at all but we certainly were!  We had just finished a serious sniffing expedition and it was one of the best!  We smelled some very beautiful juice from Les Heures de Cartier to Guerlain to L’Artisan Parfumeur to Armani Privé to Frederic Malle!

Speaking just for me, by the end I was both exhausted AND exhilerated… we hit the Éditions de Parfums counter so hard, it sent the sales associate running to her notes on several occasions.  I was attracted to both Musc Ravageur and Portrait of a Lady.  But you could have given me any one of those Éditions de Parfums fragrances… and I would have been a very happy camper.  FiveoaksBouquet was absolutely smitten by Carnal Flower.  We both loved Shalimar Parfum Initial L’Eau but were undecided about Serge Lutens’ Eau Froide.  But the most beautiful scent of the day for me, including a test of Le Parfum by Elie Saab which I love, was emanating from my left hand where FiveoaksBouquet had sprayed me with her bottle of Azurée by Estée Lauder.  Twenty-four hours later and two washings, it still smells gorgeous.  Yep… we accomplished a lot!  I couldn’t have said it better myself.

As an off-topic closer to this post and with Easter coming for Christians, I thought I would post the all-time most dramatic moment in opera… the redemption of Marguerite from Gounod’s Faust… that moment that Marguerite is saved by a host of angels just seconds before being hauled off to hell by Lucifer.

Enjoy!

Video : From Faust by Gounod with Inva Mula and Roberto Alagna.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. FiveoaksBouquet

     /  April 1, 2012

    The afternoon was unusual in that it was marked by a surprising number of quality scents, few if any disappointments, and preferences, yes, but not a scrubber in the lot. That, along with the great company, made this particular sniffing expedition one to remember.

    Shalimar Parfum Initial L’Eau is lovely (light, dry, refined) and highly wearable and, for a flanker of a flanker, has considerable distinctiveness. Eau Froide does smell like incense. It does not develop very much and it is somehow cold. I got samples of Carnal Flower and Cartier L’Heure XII (L’Heure Mystérieuse) and have been toggling back and forth between them, trying not to like them too much because they are pricey. There was aIso the Armani Privé collection with stunning scents, which I had to struggle to put totally out of mind for the same reason. I felt like buying about six different things but when I got home and calmed down I was glad to have overcome temptation in favour of calm deliberation.

    Azurée did smell fantastic on you, Normand. Wouldn’t it be great to see the full Lauder line in Canada?

    Reply
    • It WOULD be fun to see the full Lauder line… in addition to Azurée, Alliage and Lauder for Men come to mind. We’ll do it again when we have more $$$ to spend.

      Reply
  2. It sounds like a perfect day perfume-wise. But the report isn’t complete! Have you ended up buying anything? Have you scored any samples?

    Reply
    • Hi!

      I’m in savings mode… it’s tax time! FiveoaksBouquet got a couple of samples and I’m learning her straightforward technique… “Have you got a sample of xxx?”. So simple… and effective!

      Thanks for the comment!

      Normand

      Reply
      • You can also try to work on the next step:
        – Have you got a sample of xxx?
        – No, unfortunately they didn’t send us any…
        – Can you make a sample for me?
        – We’re out of sample vials.
        – I have some with me…

      • Hehehe… you’re a pro! Thanks for the advice… I’ll have to remember that.

Leave a Reply

