Estée Lauder : Private Collection Tuberose Gardenia

Created by : Harry Frémont

Date : 2007

Genre : Gardenia soliflore

Concentration : eau de parfum

The first potted plant I bought when I left home was a gardenia.  I still remember that fresh, heady scent and I bought it because I had seen Lady Sings the Blues and I was fascinated by Billie Holiday.  She often wore gardenias in her hair and although Private Collection Tuberose Gardenia is not as true as a real gardenia bouquet, it comes pretty close.

I wore Tuberose Gardenia regularly to the office a couple of years ago and it was addictive.  I loved wearing it and while researching this post, I wasn’t surprised to read that it is attributed to Harry Frémont because I also love his David Yurman rose chypre.  The man can put a fragrance together!  And Aerin Lauder, Estée Lauder’s granddaughter, was behind this one which is proof positive that good taste is genetic.

Luca Turin says that “women have no business smelling like flowers” but Tuberose Gardenia makes a very convincing case for the contrary.  In fact, TG is so beautiful even men should wear it.  Anyone who doesn’t like this fragrance probably hates flowers… and kittens.

As for the tuberose… it probably represents 20% of the bouquet.  It adds a creaminess to the fragrance… not the full buttery note found in Fracas but just a warmth with a contrasting, transient vein of menthol giving the overall effect a green tinge.

Whenever I feel that there’s just too much crap out there, I spray Tuberose Gardenia on a scent strip and remember beauty is never far away.

Buy Private Collection Tuberose Gardenia even if you never wear it.

Image : Jeune Tahitien or Jeune homme à la fleur (1891) by Paul Gauguin

Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. It’s gorgeous. I gladly paid retail for it and would again.

    Reply
  2. This is a beauty indeed, I have only a small decant and wore it a lot last summer. I love how the florals are almost toxic up top, like gasoline.

    Reply
    • Hi!

      I’ve read several references to gasoline and I’m not sure I’ve ever made the connection. I’ll have to pay more attention the next time I gas up…

      Thanks!

      Reply
      • I think it is an aspect of jasmine absolute — which in high concentration has a scent I find simultaneously oily and metallic — that, when combined with the mentholated aspect of tuberose, somehow creates the petrol effect. I’m just picking it apart with my nose/brain here, no chemistry involved.🙂

      • Wow! That sounds about right!

  1. Robert Piguet : Fracas | The Perfume Chronicles

Leave a Reply

