Women love Bleu, men love David Yurman

After 8 perfume talks, one thing is becoming clear.  Women love Chanel’s masculine Bleu while men love feminine rose chypres, notably David Yurman.  And so my question to my women readers is… do you love Bleu enough to wear it or would you want your man to wear it?  As for the men, do you like David Yurman enough to wear it or would you be attracted to a woman wearing it… or both?  Are women’s perfumes meant to seduce women at the perfume counter… or men in the bedroom?  So let’s say a male friend asks me how to attract the woman who works in the cubicle next to him.  Am I better to recommend Bleu or David Yurman?  Or nothing!  (No scent, that is.  Naked doesn’t work… I tried.)

As for colognes, everyone loves them.  The Farina eau de cologne that I distribute during my talks continues to get compliments about how clean it smells while Fracas is the great divide!  It could part the Red Sea a second time!  Half my audiences love it, the other half hates it.

People find White Linen too aggressive and Paris too overpowering.  They much prefer local favourite Neiges by Lise Watier in the floral aldehydic genre.

Although I set up Muscs Koublaï Khän before distribution as an animalic musk, they don’t hate it.  “Pas si pire”, they say.  (Loosely translated, “not that bad”.)  People don’t seem to know what to do with Chanel’s Cuir de Russie.  I think they admire it for what it does (smells of leather)… but they’re not likely to run out and buy a bottle… although I did get an email awhile back from a woman pleading to tell her where I bought my own bottle.  So when people get it, I guess they REALLY get it!

Everyone loves Eau Sauvage… in fact, many women confess to wearing it in the past.  As for Diorella, not so much.  Aqua Allègoria Pamplelune gets two thumbs up.  They appear to be neutral to Chanel No. 5 and less than neutral to Shalimar although I quickly tell them about Shalimar Parfum Initial, pleading with them not to dismiss it altogether.

Last week’s group at Saint-Basile-le-Grand was absolutely charming!  They asked intelligent questions and, more importantly, they laughed at my jokes!  But some of those people already knew about perfume.  While I was setting up Jicky as a confection of vanillin and lavender, one participant spoke out… Pour Un Homme de Caron!  Very, very bright!  Another participant yelled out “Angel” when I asked what perfume was the instigator of the gourmand family.  Lots of fun and a great group!

Have a nice week everyone!

Addendum (Feb. 8, 2012) – Everyone seems to love Pour Monsieur by Chanel.  Participants are encouraged to take scent strips at the end of the lecture and I never come home with Pour Monsieur scent strips.  Never.  The same goes for Caron’s Pour Un Homme and Knowing by Estée Lauder.

Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. isabelle

     /  February 6, 2012

    Bonjour Normand,
    Que d’intéressantes observations!
    Isabelle

    Reply
  2. I’d much rather smell David Yurman than Bleu on either persuasion!

    It’s a cliche, perhaps, but in my experience men do like the smell of white flowers on women, especially orange blossom.

    For himself, the homme around here likes leather notes — he’s been having a torrid affair with Aramis lately (and I can’t say I mind).

    Reply
    • Thanks for the insight! And I believe the same, that men are probably very attracted to a white floral on a woman. Maybe a cliche but it seems to “go together”. And, I love Aramis. Lucky you… it could be a lot worse!

      Thanks for the comment.

      Normand

      Reply
  3. Yes! Finally someone writes about fragance.|

    Reply
  4. FiveoaksBouquet

     /  February 9, 2012

    Normand, thanks so much for sharing the benefit of your experience in your perfume lectures! You are a sort of living survey as you process the results added in with each occasion. It must be fun when the participants are able to contribute their own perfume info.

    I know that Angel is the first mainstream gourmand and definitely the trendsetter for the entire category. Some gourmand trivia: There was a perfume marketed as a gourmand a few years before Angel, Eau de Charlotte by Annick Goutal, with notes of black currant, vanilla and cocoa, but the Goutal brand was new and niche and not on the radar of the general public. Interestingly, I just looked at the Goutal website and today it is described as a fruity floral (?) but it was considered a gourmand in the past, having been inspired by the favourite cake of Annick Goutal’s daughter Charlotte.

    It’s so good to know people still love eau de cologne. I do too! It was one of my first loves as a youngster (used many but Eau du Coq was my fave) and I still love edc today.

    Reply
    • Everytime I think I know something, I learn something new about that very subject. I guess that’s what keeps me interested in perfume.

      I’m going to have to hand out a survey at one point and ask people to evaluate the perfumes as I pass them around the room… something very quick… a 5-point scale.

      Thanks for the info!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

