L’Artisan Parfumeur : Dzongkha

Created by : Bertrand Duchaufour

Date : 2006

Genre : Woody iris

Concentration : eau de toilette

When I test a fragrance I always wear it twice but in this case, I made an exception.  One day was enough.  It’s not that Dzongkha is bad, it’s just that it’s not for me.

I suppose Dzongkha was considered a breakthrough when it came out… an iris for men with a woody facet but that’s about it.  There isn’t much else to say other than it smells synthetic to me because the woody-iris accord didn’t evolve much and almost 24 hours later I could still smell it on my skin… and that was even after a hot shower at the end of the day!  I said in an earlier review of La Traversée du Bosphore that Bertrand Duchaufour was the King of Cold.  The same goes for Dzongkha.  It’s downright chilly.

The iris in this one is a rooty, vegetable iris.  If you like Serge Lutens’ Iris Silver Mist, you know what I’m talking about.  But be careful, Dzongkha is overlaid with a wood veneer so my reference should be taken with a grain of salt.  The notes are tightly packed and as my friend FiveoaksBouquet would say “there are no spaces between the notes”.  In addition, this one is two-dimensional.  It’s missing a third dimension… some door to let one in!  It reminds me of Van Gogh’s doorless church at Auvers with opaque windows that leaves the viewer outside!

So let me finish this post with the fact that I’m not a fan of woods… so if you like woody scents, try this one out.  As for me… get me out of here!  Next week I’m reviewing something green to help me forget this cold, dark winter!

You’re out of the woods (!)
You’re out of the dark
You’re out of the night
Step into the sun, step into the light
Keep straight ahead
For the most glorious place
On the face of the Earth or the sky
Hold onto your breath
Hold onto your heart
Hold onto your hope
March up to the gate and bid it open

Top image : Church at Auvers (1890) by Vincent Van Gogh

Bottom image : Optimistic Voices from The Wizard of Oz (1939)

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. FiveoaksBouquet

     /  January 23, 2012

    Normand, I found this review refreshing. Categorizing it in terms of the art of painting, I would say it is of the impressionistic school, as opposed to that of realism. I enjoyed the frankly subjective approach, describing your reaction to Dzongkha, not so much an objective description. I haven’t worn Dzongkha but coincidentally am currently wearing 28 LaPausa, which is also described as an iris scent with woody notes. It is done with a very light hand–lots of spaces!🙂 Must compare these two side by side.

    Reply
    • Hi!
      It would be fun to compare. Let’s try that on an upcoming perfume expedition. I like your comment about 28 LaPausa being done with a “very light hand”. Dzongkha is not so subtle. Thanks for the comment!
      Normand

      Reply
      • Anonymous

         /  April 24, 2012

        Bonjour Normand,

        Je viens d’ajouter ton blog à ma liste de favoris.
        Pour ma part. J’aime bien Dzongkha, il se démarque de la tendance actuelle. Si les parfums de l’Artisan parfumeur était moins cher j’en porterais sûrement plus d’un…selon l’humeur du moment. J’aime beaucoup Dzing,Timbuktu et leur superbe Verte violette.

        Nathalie Boivin

      • Bonjour Nathalie,

        Bienvenue à mon blogue. Au plaisir d’échanger sur nos coups de coeur. J’aime beaucoup L’Artisan Parfumeur mais c’est certain c’est pas donné. Verte violette, je connais pas, mais les autres je connais et j’aime beaucoup Dzing! sauf je me demande s’il est toujours en production.

        Merci pour votre commentaire.

        Normand

Leave a Reply

