This one surprised me… and Merry Christmas

Thursday of this past week I followed my neighbour into the elevator.  This woman is always chic!  You should see her beautiful woolen suits in winter and stunning coats.  And even when she is headed for a day in the summer sun, she looks better than I do when I go to work!  So when I was enveloped by a fragrant cloud of roses and patchouli and oakmoss I had to ask her.  “Are you wearing Aromatics Elixir Perfumer’s Reserve?”  She responded, “No. Paloma Picasso.”  First, I thought DAMN!  I should have known that.  Then I thought, WOW!

I have a bottle of Paloma Picasso in my magic closet and although I never wrote about it officially, I feel that I know it quite well as I have worn it several times.  I always thought it was a bit “too much”… that it wore me.  I knew it was a masterpiece… but I just couldn’t commit.

I’ll write a more complete review of Paloma Picasso in 2012 because this post doesn’t do it justice.  One thing I know, however, is that I’ll never forget the sheer burst of beauty that hit me on December 16th.  It changed the rest of my day and I’m going to pull my bottle out from the back of my closet for the holidays.

And so… Christmas is around the corner and although we’ve all seen A Charlie Brown Christmas a million times, the main message is more pertinent than ever.

Enjoy!  I’ll be back after Christmas with a perfume review.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. FiveoaksBouquet

     /  December 18, 2011

    Isn’t it wonderful when you come across a marvelous scent unexpectedly? You’re so right, Normand, it can lift your spirits for the entire rest of the day. Paloma Picasso on the right person is stunning!

    Merry Christmas to you too and best wishes for a fragrant and happy New Year!

    Reply
  2. I love Paloma P– it’s amazing that so finely crafted a perfume can be had for next to nothing. When my faith in fragrance needs a restorative, I head over to the local pharmacy, look at the Paloma P. in stock on the shelves, and feel grateful that quality is accessible to all.

    Reply
  3. I actually just sprayed this in my bathroom this morning (I spray perfumes in my shower so I’ll be hit with the scent every time I go in there throughout the day), hadn’t smelled it in several months. It’s mossy mossy mossy! Quite edgy and elegant.

    Reply
    • That’s a great idea! I spray perfume on scent strips and put them next to my computer so I can enjoy them while working.

      Thanks for the comment!

      Normand

      Reply

Leave a Reply

