Don’t Drink and Perfume

This is a Public Service Announcement.

I hate that just one glass of wine too many can ruin a perfume for life… LIFE, I tell you!  For instance at the Jean-Paul Gaultier opening night last June, the wine flowed.  When I saw waiters walking around taking the empty glass out of your hand while another waiter stood by to give you a fresh one I thought… “how cool is that?”  My tuberose marvel of the night, Fragile by Jean-Paul Gaultier, got headier and more luscious with every sip of red wine.  Soon, the women looked more and more beautiful.  By the 4th glass, some of the men looked more beautiful than the women.  But last week when I took out Fragile for an evening and got a whiff of the juice, images of the less-than-beautiful morning-after came flooding back.  Ouch, ouch!  I put Fragile back in the closet.

Sometimes I wonder… if every time something bad happens to us we cross the perfume of the day off our list we’ll soon all be left with a very short list of lonely, little perfumes.  Frightening.

While researching this post, I ran across Krista’s (from Scent of The Day) beautiful and poignant post in her Perfume Casualties entry and I encourage you to go over and listen to her wise words.

Let’s end this post with a quote from Ingrid Bergman who said… “Happiness is good health and a bad memory“… more wise words, so good health and a bad memory to all.

Next week : Lalique’s Encre Noire… if I remember.

Top image : Still from The Legend of Drunken Master (1994)

Bottom image : Ingrid Bergman (1915-1982)

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Ooh, there’s nothing like a hangover aversion to kill your joy in something. I can’t even smell tequila. I’ve never tried the Gaultier Tuberose, but I will think of you when I do. I am still not wearing Musc Nomade.

    BTW, GREAT photo. Drunken Master II (The Legend of Drunken Master) is one of my all time favourites.

    Reply
  2. Dan

     /  August 17, 2011

    I smiled knowingly when I read your post – moral of the story – one may regret anything if one consumes too much.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

