Clarins : Par Amour

Created by : Raphael Haury

Date : 2005

Genre : Rose wood

Concentration : eau de parfum

When Gertrude Stein said, “There is no there there” she was talking about her home in Oakland, California but she might as well have been talking about Clarins’ Par Amour.  Launched as part of a mother-daughter set along with Par Amour Toujours edt (which I loved) Par Amour never seems to show up… and when it does, it outstays its welcome.  It’s similar to PAT but without the citrus notes and with the cedar note turned up loud.

For me, it smells like an infinished work… a sketch of a perfume that was perhaps the least offensive of a group and is missing a very important note… the beauty note.  I’m wondering if they ran out of money during the development phase because Par Amour Toujours (the “daughter” scent) is so beautiful and this one is so flat.  Think of cedar.  Then… add cedar.  Then… add more cedar.  Give it a rose subtext… I think.

I don’t know any women who would wear this kind of composition.  For that matter, I don’t know any men either.  It smacks of those hideous mother-daughter matching outfits… when it’s always mom who ends up looking ridiculous.  The daughter scent, Par Amour Toujours, is fabulous.  Par Amour, the “recut and resized” mother version, is well… not so fabulous.

This sad story ends with good and bad news.  The good news is that Par Amour has been discontinued.  The bad news?  They’ve discontinued Par Amour Toujours as well.  If they were smart, they would relaunch Par Amour Toujours, give it a new name and lose the little girl, pink valentine theme.  The juice is great.

P.S.  Both are still widely available on discount perfume websites.

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. I wear it!

    I have the opposite view of things…PAT smells great, but doesn’t do it for me. PT is a personal favourite of mine. Love that it’s inexpensive, easy to wear, and suits me perfectly.

    I wish they re-released this one as well…this time for men. I think it’d do better.

    Reply
    • I just didn’t find it very interesting. If I had to think of its pro’s, I would say… it feels like quality was put into it and Par Amour definitely lasts. But… it never seemed to evolve much and by the end of the day, I wished it would disappear. To each his own, I guess.

      Reply
    • zoey

       /  September 2, 2011

      Agree.

      Reply
  2. Denise

     /  March 9, 2016

    I STRONGLY disagree with you about Par Amour Perfume, I love the smell. The rose and sandlewood combo make the perfume, I have numerous complements every time I wear it ! My other favorite is Obsession which also has sandlewood and once again I always receive complements, however it is a little stronger. I highly recommend the perfume Par Amour is relaunched touting the sensual scent. I was at Bonton Dept. Store in 2007 and walked by the Clarins counter and stopped in my tracks when I smelled Par Amour for the first time. I wanted to buy a bottle but had to go on a six month waiting list ( don’t think I waited that long). Not to brag but I will, in 2000 I had to have nasal surgery that effected both my taste and smell which are now heightened; which has dramatically improved ability to smell.

    Reply
    • Ouch! I was getting more of a cedar than a sandalwood note and it just rubbed me the wrong way. I’ve been wearing these big rose chypres recently, namely Knowing and Paloma Picasso. Maybe I should try Par Amour again. Thanks for bringing it to my attention… it’s in my magic closet somewhere.

      Thanks for writing!

      Normand

      Reply

Leave a Reply

