I’m totally viral!


Or… that’s what I thought when I went to bed late Friday night.  You see… I checked my blog for any new comments and my eye jumped to the right-hand side of the screen.  My page views were extraordinarily high.  Where I normally average about 200 views per day, I had 1664 views… or around there.  The truth is I couldn’t see clearly through the tears of joy streaming down my face.  So I immediately checked to see where all those hits were coming from and they were precipitated by a Google search on the word “brancusi”.  My new readers were all hitting on a post I wrote last November called “Will anyone ever replace the great Clara Rockmore?” which included the image of a sculpture by Constantin Brancusi.

Now… the techies at work will tell you that I’m not the sharpest tool in the toolkit.  In that vein, I’m thinking… I’m being attacked!  So I immediately delete my most popular post of the day and I send an email to WordPress Support asking them what to do.  They respond… “You’re getting traffic.  Congratulations!  Put the post back up and sit back and enjoy it.” 

Now I figure… I’m viral!  At last!  Images of interviews with Oprah, Piers Morgan and guest hosting on The View are floating through my head.  Book deals!  Movie deals!  Lunch with The Donald.  At last… my 15 minutes of fame are here and I’m going to be rich!  I can finally tell my colleagues at the university what I really think of them!  I’ll be able to buy myself the best friends.  I’ll have what every Canadian wants… the American Dream!

But as life is… after a tumultuous night of planning what I would do with my newly found fame, money and friends… I woke up.  I opened my browser and my default page opened to Google and I saw this…

 

 

Turns out Saturday was Constantin Brancusi’s 135th birthday… ergo… all my fans will probably disappear in 24 hours (the Friday hits were probably coming from Europe)… all this leaving me with just one question… WHO CELEBRATES ANYONE’S 135TH BIRTHDAY?!?  All that traffic was coming to me not because of my insight into the world of perfume… but because they were looking for an image by Brancusi.

And so when it was all over, I saved a screen capture of my stats (29,903 views in one day) and concluded that sadly, my one-shot at 15 minutes of fame will have come and gone… without me actually becoming famous.  No Oprah.  No limousines.  No hanging out with Justin Bieber… just my perfumes and this obsession to sniff and write.  And until the real virus comes my way, the Greek salad special at Reuben’s Deli with my friend Ricky will have to do.  But I hope a few wayward surfers who were looking for works by Brancusi come back to read what I think about perfume and if they do, well I can thank the great Romanian-born genius.  Thanks Constantin… wherever you are (great look, by the way).

 

 

P. S. I’ll be back later this week with the perfume review I was supposed to write before my vanity got in the way.

Top image : Screen capture – February 19th, 2011 – 29,903 views on my blog

Middle image : Google as it appeared on February 19th, 2011

Bottom image : Photo of Constantin Brancusi (1876-1957)

Previous Post
Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Eric

     /  February 21, 2011

    Trivia Question:
    Who was the woman who encouraged Brancusi the most?
    Answer:
    Helena Rubinstein
    (You got one hit from me today by the way! xoxo)

    Reply
    • Really??? Gee… who would have known? Thanks for the trivia… that’s actually fascinating. They were both Romanians, I think. Thanks for the comment!

      Normand

      Reply
  2. Eric

     /  February 21, 2011

    She was Polish from Cracow (There’s a site called Google you know)
    Helena Rubinstein was an avid art collector and bought artwork in bulk. She catapulted many an artist’s career such as Modigliani, Matisse, Chagall and Brancusi to name a few.
    You are most welcome Normand! Great blog and always the most fun way to relax in the evening by reading your witty humor.
    I just want my part of the champagne and caviar in the future, even if only as a groupie🙂

    Reply
    • I read War Paint many years ago… which was a dual biography of her and Elizabeth Arden. Great book… oddly enough… a real page turner! As for being a groupie… it doesn’t look like it’s going to happen any time soon… so… better to get back to the serious business of perfume reviews. 😉

      Normand

      Reply
  3. In the future everyone will be viral for 15 minutes! (Brancusi was a handsome devil wasn’t he?)

    Reply
    • Yep… I think so. Saturday night was as close as I’ll ever get to shopping with Lady Gaga. As for Brancusi… yeah! He certainly was.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

