Clarins : Par Amour Toujours

Created by : Raphael Haury

Date : 2005

Genre : Citrus floral

Concentration : eau de toilette

I would never have tested Clarins’ Par Amour Toujours if I had not read in Luca Turin and Tania Sanchez’  Perfumes: The Guide that it was beautiful.  I didn’t even know that Clarins made fragrances and even if I knew, I wouldn’t have expected much.  The fact is that Par Amour Toujours, despite its over-the-top name and its Little Lady bottle with a heart on top, is clearly a stunning, balanced, citrus-rose scent with a convincing tangerine opener that pulls you in and keeps you coming back for more.

In perfumery, roses are tough.  When they go over the top, they are heavy and they remind me of funeral parlors.  If you’re going to create a rose perfume, you had better know what you are doing.  This one is perfect and it reminds me of those lemon-scented roses that  I once grew back when I had a small garden.

For musicians, the best way I can describe Par Amour Toujours is that it is a major third interval with the citrus note being the upper note and the rose note grounding the harmony three degrees lower.  It’s that balanced and pretty.

Whenever I am asked to recommend perfumes for people who don’t love perfumes, I recommend scents that are  recognizable.  Chypres (or what’s left of them) are too complex.  Ambers can be too sexy.  Leathers are too sophisticated.  Abstract florals are too, well… abstract.  I start people off on scents that speak to them in words that they can understand and I can’t think of a better starter perfume for anyone than Par Amour Toujours.  It’s perfect for teenage girls and for anyone out there looking for a light, summer scent.  Surprisingly for an eau de toilette which usually lasts no longer than 6 hours, this one lasts pretty well all day.  And, it’s inexpensive so the value is excellent.

Although clearly marketed to women (girls, even) with little pink hearts on the box, Par Amour Toujours can be worn by men because it’s simple and the rose note is a subtext to the citrus top.  Just keep the bottle in its box and hide the box in your underwear drawer… so that only thieves will find it while they are looking for your wallet.

Enjoy!

Image : Roses in a Champagne Glass (1882) by Edouard Manet

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. So glad this is getting some attention! I’m a big fan of it’s woody-sister, Par Amours…but Toujours is definitely worth a sniff.

    Reply
    • Hi Dane,

      It’s great isn’t it? Would you believe I bought it at Sear’s at the very moment that the SA was packing their inventory in boxes and telling me that they weren’t going to sell it anymore. MISTAKE!

      Normand

      Reply
  1. Looking back at summer 2010 | The Perfume Chronicles
  2. Will anyone ever replace the great Perry Como? | The Perfume Chronicles

Leave a Reply

