Thierry, Olivier and Christine – new beginnings and new horizons

Has there ever been a better time in perfume than today?  Maybe not!  I mean… can you imagine that just this past year both Chanel and Hermès announced the addition of young, gifted perfumers to work with their in-house noses?  Olivier Polge will work with his father Jacques Polge until his retirement from Chanel and Christine Nagel will work with Jean-Claude Ellena at Hermès.  Can you wait for 2014’s creations?  I can’t.

As for Thierry Wasser, although he moved to the helm of Guerlain five years ago, I consider him relatively new to the Guerlain house considering that former noses, all from the Guerlain dynasty, held that position for decades!

So what makes these recent appointments so exciting?  It’s the marriage of talent AND money.  It makes me feel very optimistic for the future of perfume.

And so… this is my wish for these two men and one woman.

For Thierry… I wish you inspiration and courage to NOT follow the trends.  We look to Guerlain for innovation and perfection.  I love Shalimar Parfum Initial (it’s a Shalimar I can wear anytime) and many of my girlfriends love La Petite Robe Noire.

For Olivier… I still wear and love your iris marvel Dior Homme so how about giving us a Chanel iris for men?  With Chanel’s deep pockets, the possibilities are endless.  We love you already… we want  you to succeed.

For Christine… minimalism has its merits and its limitations.  It’s time for the Hermès pendulum to swing back.  The perfume community is behind you and we have faith in you.

I guess “the times they are a-changin!”  While writing this post, thoughts of the 60s rushed through my head and all those great folk singers… Bob Dylan, Joan Baez and the group that I always loved fittingly composed of… two men and one woman – Peter, Paul and Mary.  Can you watch this video without taking your eyes off Mary?  The hair, the shoulders, the waist, the dress, the shoes, the moves and that voice!  I love their take on Early Mornin’ Rain by Canadian songwriter Gordon Lightfoot.

Enjoy!

Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. Andrea

     /  December 15, 2013

    Always exciting when new, young, innovative creators take the reins. They certainly have a great tradition to carry on.

    Reply
    • Yes they do! And for all the negative things surrounding the world of perfume today, the young talent and their creations is certainly something to look forward to!

      Thanks for the comment.

      Normand

      Reply
  2. Teodora

     /  December 16, 2013

    Lovely post Normand. You end the year in style and on a high note of hope.
    A very merry Christmas to you and happy sniffing 2014!

    Reply
  3. I’m really happy that Nagel is taking over from Elena. The Elena years at Hermes have been great, but I think she’s an excellent pick for a change and a new approach.

    Reply
    • Yes. I think that Ellena might have painted the house into a corner with his ideaology. It’s not clear that he is actually leaving (or when) but I am dying to smell Hermès’ next creation.

      Thanks for the comment.

      Normand

      Reply
  4. mario

     /  December 21, 2013

    I can only comment on Olivier Polge. It is no surprise to me. It was written in the sky. Some of his previous work are really in line with Chanel. The years to come will be amazing! I read that it will take a few years before the first Olivier Polge’s release… The Chanel time… I hope that it will be a male fragrance :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 145 other followers

