Crossing the desert

In my personal life, I feel like I’m crossing a desert.  It happens, I guess.  Perfume-wise, I’ve been wearing reset-button scents almost exclusively… vintage Monsieur de Givenchy, Stetson and Chanel’s Pour Monsieur.  All are basic, no-frills fragrances… vintage Monsieur de Givenchy is an herbal eau de cologne, Stetson is a simple amber and Pour Monsieur is a basic chypre.

Earlier this week, I had a dream that Luca Turin was giving a Master Class on perfume to myself and fellow bloggers in my living room!  He kept talking about a certain perfume and we were trying to remember the name.  I went to my magic closet and I couldn’t find it… but I blurted out… it’s “Eau de terre brûlée!”  Can you imagine… eau de scorched earth???  What would that smell like?  Agent Orange?  Napalm?  Good grief!

On a happier note, Montreal’s Holt Renfrew is now carrying Frederic Malle’s Éditions de Parfums and a sniffing expedition is planned this week with FiveoaksBouquet.  On Thursday, I went to HR to look for a new tie and I had time to sniff Maurice Roucel’s Musc Ravageur and Dominique Ropion’s Carnal Flower.  I thought Musc Ravageur was sublime… but Carnal Flower smelled rubbery on paper.  I just wish they weren’t so expensive but I guess quality costs.

It’s time for spring.

I’ll be back next week with a perfume review.  Have a nice week everyone!

Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. You are one of very few people that smell this rubber note in Carnal Flower. I smell it in many EdPF releases like Vetiver Extraordinaire (OK, it is expected there), Carnal Flower, En Passant.

    I hope you find an oasis somewhere in this desert.

    Reply
  2. Tara C

     /  March 26, 2012

    This is excellent news about FM in Montreal! Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
  3. Anonymous

     /  March 27, 2012

    Hey, Normand, I’ve traveled across that desert. I think your stategy of reverting to the basic scents you love is a good one. Steady as she goes! Eau de Terre Brûlée piques the imagination. Reading your story led me to read up on the use of the scorched-earth policy as used in various wars and, depending on the terrain, the perfume possibilities are intriguing!

    Reply
  4. FiveoaksBouquet

     /  March 27, 2012

    Oops, that was me above. my user name got erased somehow.

    Reply
  5. Isabelle

     /  March 27, 2012

    Salut Normand! C’est drôle moi ça ne me parait pas être un nom de parfum repoussant, au contraire. Ça me fait plutôt penser à des champs brûlés (pour les fertiliser je crois), au désert et au soleil!

    Reply
    • Bonjour Isabelle,

      Vous nous donnez une belle image… peut-être une deuxième carrière comme parfumeur vous attend? Merci pour le commentaire!

      Normand

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 146 other followers

